Updated following the webinar with slide deck, recording and other documents. 

Supporting school attendance is critical. How do you know if your programming and investments are yielding results? Many Grade-Level Reading Network communities have grappled with this question.

This webinar featured Cecelia Leong from Attendance Works who provided specific guidance on the criteria for measurable progress in school attendance including data sources for assessments and programmatic examples. We also heard from San Antonio, Texas and Grand Rapids, Mich. about how they track measurable progress in this solution area. Review the tools recently released by Attendance works to help communities calculate chronic absence specifically for the Self-Assessment

A question arose about which states use average daily attendance as a basis for distributing state revenue. According to a report from The Chalkboard Project, those seven states are California, Idaho, Illinois, Kentucky, Missouri, Mississippi and Texas. See the report for more detail.

In addition, we heard from two GLR Network communities that are addressing aspects of the GLR Campaign's framework for success, scale and sustainability that will be used to identify communities for this year's Pacesetter Honors. Stockton-San Joaquin, Ca. discussed how they prioritize children and families in public house and those who are especially vulnerable. Polk County, Ga. shared their experiences utilizing technology to expand reach, mobilize constituencies, improve service delivery and/or streamline operations.

Ron Fairchild, director of the GLR Support Center, will outlined the structure of the awards process answered questions. Download the webinar slide deck and listen to the recording.

Measurable Progress for Low-Income Children: School Attendance
Held Tuesday, December 6 at 3p ET/2p CT/1p MT/12p PT
LISTEN TO THE RECORDING


Email me when people comment –

You need to be a member of The Huddle to add comments!

Join The Huddle